Mumblings

Most Prized Possession
I’ve been thinking about what my most prized possession is in the world.  When asked if their house was burning down and they could only take one item with them, most people say their photo albums.  With the advent of digital photo, the internet, backing up photos on disc and so forth, I wonder if that answer is even valid in this day and age.  So photo albums aside, what is my most prized possession?  Everything I own I can load up in my car and drive away with, even the furniture in my room came with the room so I don’t own a hell of a lot of stuff.  I look around my room and contemplate that question ever so often and I must say I don’t think I have a prized possession that I couldn’t replace.  Yeah there’s stuff I really like that I own and things that I couldn’t live without; my kitchen knife, my coffee cup but those minor replaceable things are merely that, minor and replaceable.  I guess what it all amounts to is that I don’t have a “prized possession” or irreplaceable item. 

Readings
stumbling-upon-happiness-by-daniel-gilbert
I just finished Stumbling on Happiness by Daniel Gilbert.  I can’t remember why I picked it up.  I think it was a recommended read in the back of Paradox of Choice and they had it at the library so I decided to give it a whirl.  To sum it up it looks at the hows, whats and whys of happiness, along with our personal insights into our futures and what we think will make us happy.  It’s an interesting read with some really cool insights, studies and examples as to what makes us happy.  It wasn’t the best written of books, at times I wanted to give up on it but I forced my way through the lows and I think the biggest problem was the over-usage of “for example”.  Writing aside, understanding some of the psychology of happiness, regret, satisfaction, and present actions and thoughts that we think will make us happy in the future was really interesting and insightful.  The last half of the book was really good.

Nick Cave
I was going to write about what music I was listening to lately so I could look back in 3 years and see what I was listening to.  I was thinking about what I had been listening to lately and what seems “as usual”, I was listening to a lot of Nick Cave.  So I decided to make a post on Nick Cave.  I’m told that there’s two types of people; people who love Nick Cave and everything he does and those that don’t.  I’m of the first.  He’s a sort of Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen kind of singer and either you get him or you don’t.
I think I picked up my first Nick Cave and the Badseeds album in ’02 and since then anything Nick Cave has been a staple to my listening.  In those subsequent years I caught up on albums that he realesed in the 80’s and 90’s but best of all he kept on releasing amazing albums that I would argue are his best realses.  The ’04 double disc release of Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus is still still a regular listen for me.  I loved the The Lyre of Orpheus disc but feel I’m only just now discovering how amazing Abattoir Blues is.  I’m also just starting to realize how good of an album his ’07 side project Grinderman is.  In between he released another solid album Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!, which I fully enjoy but am sure that like 2 years time I’ll for some reason enjoy even more.  To top all of this off he’s just released a book, The Death of Bunny Munro, which is getting a lot of good press.  What’s really interesting is how much he uses and has embraced the internet with all of his projects.  Where other bands have neglected their websites, started legal battles over file sharing and in turn foresaken the 21st century’s primary media, Nick Cave has really embraced it and got on board putting up some really great websites.  Even his book has it’s own site to promote it and the amount of content he’s put on it is amazing, from video readings  and audiobooks of him reading to free chapters to even a soundtrack he’s made for it.  And again to top if off I’ve just read he’s set to release another Grinderman album in the new year.  So yeah, Nick Cave…

Leave a Reply

