Stuff is Good

A busy and interesting week and a bit.  Finished school, started practicum and made a trip back to Edmonton for Thanksgiving, all of which have been great. 

Feels nice to get out of the classroom, get some practical experience and see what the world of nursing is all about.  So far it’s good.  I like the 12 hour days, they’re long but I’d rather have a few long days instead of a long week.  The work is good too.  I got into nursing because I wanted to work and help with people and get that warm fuzzy feeling inside after a job well done.  Last practicum I didn’t really experience that but so far this time I have.  Now we’ll just have to see what I do with this education and possible career path…

I set out to Edmonton to ignore and neglect my family and spend it with my adopted family at Transcend.  The weather kind of sucked in Edmonton and it even bloody snowed while I was there but what can you do?  Oh yeah, you can have an awesome time with some great people.  Coffee, food, beer, liquor and like minded people all combined equals a great time.  Hell I even went to the new community center in Leduc and got a workout in at their awesome new fitness center.  That fills the Top 5.  To top it off, pretty much everyone is coming out to Van next week for the National barista comp.  It’s going to be awesome.

It’s weird; everything Edmonton lacks, Vancouver has and everything Vancouver lacks, Edmonton has.  Things were not as they were in Edmonton when I left it and instead much has changed and things are happening.  I see all that’s happening, the change, the opportunity and I can’t help but feel excited and wanting in.

Leave a Reply

